hudson’s room details: part I

Now that you’ve seen a general overview of Hudson’s room, I’ll break things down a little bit. Ready for a photo bombardment? Ok, go:

034The bookcase was made by my great-grandfather. He was a master woodworker, and most people on my dad’s side of the family have pieces of his displayed in their homes. My dad wasn’t using this anymore (he says it was more of a quick, functional piece as opposed to the more artistic things that were his signature), and we happily took it off his hands.  I love that we were able to bring in several family items to Hudson’s room- it helps personalize things a little bit.

I got a bunch of the green metal locker baskets at a yard sale a while back, and was so excited to use them in Hudson’s room. Most of them are stored in his closet for now, but this one fit perfectly on the shelf and was the perfect place to store little by essentials.

053The Donald Duck bank belonged to my gandfather, and the sweet cowboy boots were Zach’s when he was little (apparently he wore them all the time). My mother-in-law recently gave them to us, and I sort of felt I like I won the lottery. I am in love with those little guys! The duck and the boots made perfect bookends for some extra-special books (yes, the title of the one on the end is I Love You, Stinky Face. It’s one of my favorites- total Angle family humor!). The circle cards on the ring are from my shower, and we use them almost every night as we’re putting Hudson to bed.

059

The embroidered alphabet was in my nursery as a baby (my aunt originally made it for my cousin, so it’s made the rounds through our family). The mat and frame used to be lavender (along with everything else in my room), which I remedied with a little spraypaint.014The bumper is from Pottery Barn Kids via Craigslist. My original plan was to skip the bumper altogether because most of what I found seemed to be too “themey”. I loved that this one was boyish while not competing with the other elements in the room.

045

The chair is the Pottery Barn Spencer chair (we got it from the Mitchell Gold+Bob Williams outlet). Yes, white chair. Baby room. So far, so good. The drapes are Pottery Barn Kids Sawyer drapes via Ebay. Lamp from Bed, Bath, and Beyond (from our wedding registry). The paper crane mobile was made by the staff at our school as part of our baby shower. The cranes are made out of book pages. We love it!

050The laundry basket is from Pottery Barn via Craigslist. Hudson loves it- that boy takes his laundry duty pretty seriously. The pouf was a clearance find from Target a while ago, but they brought it back!

015The campaign dresser was a Craigslist find, and I was able to pay the girl I bought it from a little extra to paint it for me (we were in between houses at the time, so she also held it forever- very thankful for that). The green was a risky choice for my neutral-loving ways, but I love how it makes it a little more fun. The panda was a gift from my mother-in-law (she got it at a yard sale we went to together, but I think it’s from World Market). The globe lamp was a $3 yard sale find, and it’s one of the things people always seem to point out. The vintage truck was a gift from a friend from a yard sale we went to together. The books below it were both birthday gifts for Hudson, and they are favorites of ours (Little Blue Truck books).

 

Part II coming soon!

2 thoughts on “hudson’s room details: part I

  1. Cute! But…where is the little model to “show off” the room!? Ummm – I think you need to sell me that white chair – seriously! He needs a different color!:)

  2. Pingback: hudson’s nursery details: part II | just the right Angle

Leave a Reply

