Another Shot at the Crock Pot?

The other night I was discussing crock pot cooking with some friends. It seems as though people are in one of two categories:

1) They love it and use it religiously

2) They never use it

Unfortunately, I’m currently in the second category. Not for lack of wanting, mind you. I have tried a few things in our crock pot, but I just haven’t found anything to be as amazing as everyone makes this little cooking gadget sound. This may be partly due to the fact the times I’ve used the crock pot have also coincided with the times that I’ve decided to “try something new” and cook with things that I don’t usually use. The only problem with this theory is that the reason I don’t use the things I don’t usually use is because I don’t usually like them. Like sauerkraut. I don’t even like the name. Why would I think that something as disgusting as sauerkraut would become magically delicious after cooking for six hours?

When I do conquer my crock pot inadequacies, I will be doing this:

http://outofthecrayonbox.blogspot.com/2010/02/i-painted-my-crock-pot.html

So stinkin’ cute. Maybe it’s the teacher in me, but I love pretty much anything covered in chalkboard paint. This would be so perfect for when we have guests! And I’m betting that I could find an old, countryfied crock pot for just a few dollars at a yard sale. I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

