Recipe for Living

I thought I’d share a little how-to for another small project I completed recently. Zach and I are trying to make Scripture memory a more consistent part of our routine and, to help reach this goal, I put this together:

Since I write the verses we’re working on on notecards, I thought a cute place to store them would not only help us keep them in plain sight (which will encourage us to practice), but help us keep a record of which verses we should know. To make this super easy, you could just grab a recipe box and traditional recipe dividers but, if you don’t have dividers and want to make due with stuff around the house, see below.

The stars of the show: a recipe box, scissors, index cards, and labels.

First, print the books that you would like in a fun font (Julie has me totally hooked on Little Days). I did the New Testament, Psalms, and Proverbs. (Not because I don’t think the Old Testament is amazing, but because we’re trying to memorize things as chapters and books and, lets face it, I think the other 29 books will be sufficient.)

Next, cut out each book individually.

 

Next, cut your label. It label should be twice as high as the book title (the excess will attach to the index card).

 

Affix the label to the index card and the paper (book title) to the label.

 

Trim away any excess label stickiness.

 

Rinse and repeat.

 

“I have hidden your word in my heart
       that I might not sin against you.”

Psalm 119:11

Don’t forget to check out the other inspiring ideas at The Shabby Nest, The Inspired Room, Finding Fabulous , A Soft Place to Land, Fingerprints on the Frigde, and Tidymom!

4 thoughts on “Recipe for Living

  1. This is such a great idea. I just picked up a recipe box that I was going to decoupage… now I have the perfect idea for it. My daughter has bible verses to memorize for school and this would be a great way for us to keep them readily available.

Leave a Reply

