Secondhand Finds: Freeish

To be honest, the next find wasn’t really free, but it eventually worked out so I broke even, so it was freeish.

 First of all, let me say that I looove my dishes. They are the white Emma dishes from Pottery Barn. Yes, I know they’re pricey, but they were wedding gifts and, since we didn’t register for fine china, they do double duty. The style fits right in with the rest of our house, the substantial weight is evidence of the quality, and the fun details make me smile. That being said, there are some items in the collection that I would love to have (it would be so much fun to have the complete set), but have a really hard time justifying price-wise. Take, for example, this sweet little teapot. Useful and adorable. And $39. The teacups and saucers are $12 a set. It’s all cute, but spending over $100 for stuff I won’t use every day seems a little frivolous.

 Enter: good old Craigslist. I was doing some browsing a few months ago when I came across a listing for six dinner plates (regularly $12 each), six salad plates (regularly $10 each), six cups and saucers, and a teapot for $65. I ended up getting the set, which I was really excited about, considering that it was at such a fraction of the original price. What made it even better was that I was able to relist the 12 plates (since I already own a set) and got $65 for them. To be fair, the lady that purchased them was still getting a good deal (more than 50% off) and, thankfully, I was able to offset my original cost, making my teapot and teacups essentially free. Yes, I realize that logic is a bit convoluted, but it works for me. So, if you’re ever craving a spot of tea and are in the area, come say hello!

3 thoughts on “Secondhand Finds: Freeish

  1. I LOVE your dishes, cuz i’m a nut for any kind of polka-dot-type things! your ingenious way of breaking even is inspiring – you’re a shrwed little woman inside that cute little body!! :)

Leave a Reply

