Midwest Road Trip: Wisconsin and Chicago Part II

After spending our first night in Chicago, we headed to Wisconsin to visit my aunt, uncle, cousins, and Nona who live about an hour outside of Milwaukee. Unfortunately (as in, totally annoyed at myself) we don’t have any pictures from the trip. That disappointment aside, we had an incredible time catching up with my mom’s side of the family. We ate a wonderful, HUGE Italian meal, went to a local custard place, and enjoyed listening to my Nona (who is 93) serenade us in Italian ( just like she’s done since we were little). Other than our wedding, it was Zach’s first time getting to spend time with most of my mom’s side of the family, and it was such a blessing to get to catch up. At the end of the night, my Aunt Harriet gave me some cookbooks that had belonged to my mom (she had quite the collection!). I’ve had fun looking through them and am excited to try a few new recipes. We loved seeing everyone and can’t wait to go back!

The next day, we decided to spend a bit more time in Chicago. I call this day, “Why My Husband Should Write a Book on Saving Money”.

First, he scored us a great deal on a beautiful hotel in downtown Chicago. We were super excited about the hotel, but a little worried about parking, which the hotel charged $27 a night for. I know. Crazy. Thankfully, my “you can’t take my money that easily” husband dropped me off to unpack and then drove around looking for a better deal. Somehow, he was able to find the one curb in all of Chicago that was being reapaved and, as a result, didn’t have a meter on it. Free parking in one of America’s biggest cities for over 24 hours? Done.

Next, as we were walking down the street, Zach found some Kenneth Cole aviators. After a brief debate about the ethics behind taking them, he convinced me that there are about a zillion people in Chicago and you can’t exactly turn in a pair of sunglasses…anywhere. Then, we began another debate about whether or not I could actually wear them and not look like a boy. Zach took this picture trying to convince me that they were doable:

 

I’m still not convinced. We took them to a Kenneth Cole store to ask if they were for boys. The woman working there told us that they were unisex. I’m not sure about the word unisex or wearing accessories that are described as unisex, but I haven’t ruled them out.

After exploring a few shops downtown (including a brief walk through the American Girl store- my husband was thrilled), we headed to Navy Pier. We loved people watching and enjoying the beautiful scenery. We also decided to ride the ferris wheel to get better views of the area. It might be a control thing, but I am a bit of a sissy on ferris wheels (evidence below).

Later that night, we took the Subway to Wrigley Field to watch the Cubs play the Pirates. Zach thought that it would be better to buy tickets outside of the park when we got there so while we were on our way I asked him how much he was hoping to spend. He told me that he wanted them to be free. I said of course he did. After talking to the first scalper we saw after getting off of the subway and him not offering us any free tickets (shocker), we decided to see if we fared any better with the people waiting in line around the stadium. To my shock and amazement (and despite the fact that I was wearing Pirate gold), a sweet guy offered us his extra bleacher seat (the bleachers are general admission). We then took the bleacher ticket back to scalper #1, who offered us two upper-level tickets in exchange for our bleacher ticket. Yep. Free Cubs tickets. Since Wrigley Field is an older stadium, the upper level wasn’t nearly as high as it is at most parks, and we had a pretty good view of the game. I was pulling for the Pirates and, since Zach had made a promise to my 93 year-old grandmother the night before, he was too. Thankfully, Pittsburgh won and we had another great night of baseball!

The next day, we walked around a little bit more and then stopped for some famous Chicago deep-dish pizza at Giordano’s,  a restaurant recommended to us by some friends that used to live in the Windy City. The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious. With full bellies, we stopped at the Dream Home (more on that later), then headed to the last stop on our road trip: Indiana.

One thought on “Midwest Road Trip: Wisconsin and Chicago Part II

  1. Wow! I feel like I went with you in your suitcase!! Such a great synopsis of your trip! I am SO happy that you were able to visit your mom’s mama! How cool that she is still so cute and spry at 93~

    I love the pics, and tell Zach he SHOULD write a book on getting good deals; especially the hotel, cuz that doesn’t usually happen! I am happy for you guys that you had such a memorable trip, and thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

