House Tour: Dining Room

To make up for not sharing much of anything last week (our Internet was out and it was the first week of school…pretty insurmountable hurdles when it comes to updating the ol’ blog), I thought I’d share pictures of a room that I haven’t gotten to introduce you to yet. Please meet our dining room (as it was about a year ago):

Part of the reason that I haven’t shared pictures of this room yet is because it isn’t exactly finished. But, as any homeowner knows, nothing is really ever finished, so I might as well share the work in progress:

Source List:

Source List:
·         wall paint: Pine Whisper- upper and Hydrangea Floret- lower (Pittsburgh Paints) colormatched in Valspar
·         trim paint: Westhighland White (Sherwin Williams) colormatched in Valspar
·         table: Craigslist
·         chairs: Pottery Barn via Craigslist ($5 each!)
·         slipcovers: JCPenney
·         wall cabinet: cabinet auction
·         antique scale: parents’ first home (included an old grist mill that they renovated together)
·         dishes: Pottery Barn Emma collection
·         flatware: Oneida Bellini (from Bed, Bath and Beyond, but I don’t think they sell it anymore)
·         painting under wall cabinet: of my parents’ first home, done by my cousin when he was in middle school
·         utensil holder: Crate and Barrel
·         flowers: Trader Joe’s

·         chandelier: Pottery Barn via Craigslist

 
Inspiration:
The wall cabinet served as the jumping-off point for this room. While I love the finish on the piece, it’s also pretty specific, limiting our color choices a bit.
 
Confession:
This room sucked up about four coats of paint (including oil-based primer). I. am. not. kidding. I am not a fan of painting rooms that I’ve already painted, and I got a little sloppy on coat #4. As a result, we now have a few runs that drive me a little bit bonkers. I’m really good at telling middle schoolers not to rush through their work…not so good at following my own advice.
 
Things that Were on our To-Do List:
·         scraping the popcorn ceilings
·         scraping TONS of wallpaper
·         having the ceilings and trim painted
·         painting the walls
·         having the floors refinished
 
Things that are Still on our To-Do List:
Obviously, there is a big, empty wall staring you in the face when you walk into this room. I would love to do a grouping of white plates, which I (of course) have been scouring yard sales for lately. Once we find enough, I’ll be sure to share the final product!

Since we’re not really formal people, the informal touches in this space fit us well. We’ve already enjoyed some wonderful memories with family and friends around the table, and we can’t wait for more!

4 thoughts on “House Tour: Dining Room

Leave a Reply

