The Big Kahuna

As far as yard sales go, we have been on a major dry streak lately. Until this weekend, that is. This past Saturday, we hit the mother of all yard sales. It seriously makes me giddy just thinking about it. Great stuff, insanely low prices. My only regret is not getting more. It was at this yard sale that I scored my greatest find of all time EVER. It was originally marked $5. At first I passed on it, because…? I think maybe because they were selling furniture for $2 and this was smaller than furniture and it seemed like it shouldn’t be more expensive. I know. Zach and I have commented several times on how yard sale shopping totally messes with your head when it comes to pricing. When we came back to pick a few things up it was still there (amazingly).I bought it with a vintage chopper thing (which I fully intend to use), and I negotiated the seller down to $3 for both. Looking back, it’s sort of ridiculous that I negotiated with him, but in my defense, I didn’t know if it worked. What was it, you ask? Oh, just this:


Yes, a Canon lens, compatible with our camera, that retails for over $400 and sells used for around $350. In.sane. No, I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep it or sell it. Yes, I would love to show you pictures of our other finds, but our camera has been in quite the funk and has now bit the dust. Cue Alanis Morissette.

Leave a Reply

