real simple. for real.

If you haven’t already guessed from the pictures of the date night surprises that my husband occasionally brings me, I am a total sucker for Real Simple magazine. It has pretty pictures and fun ideas, and those happen to be two of my favorite things in the world. Although I love it, one thing that has always struck me as slightly ironic is the fact that several of the ideas in the magazine are not really simple at all. In fact, they’re downright budget-busting. While I may love to drool over their “affordable” decorating options at $2000 for a chair, it’s just not something I see happening where my wallet is concerned. So, after scoring a stack of old issues for free at a yard sale a few weeks ago, I was pleasantly surprised to find something that was not only a simple idea, but could simplify my life as well.
 
I am one of those people. The kind that saves plastic bags because one time in elementary school I learned that it takes something like a billion years for a plastic bag to decompose and that’s just too much guilt to take. Sometimes I recycle them at the store or even bring my own bags, but this is more indicative of how I roll.

So, despite my efforts, we usually end up with a mountain of grocery bags stuffed into one larger bag consuming the entire floor of our pantry. For an organizational freak like me, this is somewhat unnerving.


 
Thanks to the magazine’s suggestion and a bunch of snotty-nosed 7th graders (flu season is upon us), I now have this:


 
Is that a collective sigh of relief I hear? Control at last! Please disregard the comictastic tissue box. Don’t you remember the days when picking out which cute tissue box you were going to bring in was one of the highlights of school supply shopping? Anyone?
 
And, just for fun:

via Amazon

via Amazon

 

PS- That paper grocery bag of bags is not entirely gone. The plastic bags have been wrangled, but when I forget my cloth bags I usually try to get paper. I put one under our sink for recycling, and, if we don’t use enough, the paper bags can go in the recycling bin themselves.

PPS- Check out my amazing 7th graders here. Then watch this adorable video, and listen for the rapping at the end. Yes, I hang out with 12 year-olds who aren’t afraid to do a rap they made up in the middle of a college campus AND for the newspaper. Adorable.

Leave a Reply

