secondhand finds: a weighty issue

This post is going to be about an item that becomes wildly unpopular this time of year. (Jaws music here)….The scale. (screams of despair)
Don’t worry, I’m not going to be posting about any crazy diet plan or telling you how you should stay away from the green bean casserole because I have fun intentions, better yet, a plan of attack, to enjoy the next several weeks. Nope, this scale isn’t for people. At one time, it was used in a market in Raleigh, and now its sole purpose is to cutify our kitchen. I found it during one of our Saturday adventures and immediately lunged toward the man in charge spitting out, “doyouseethatbigbluescaleovertherei’lltakeit. Thank you very much.” I LOVE the fun, retro lines, the fact that it matches our kitchen perfectly, and the excellent condition. It was originally covered in a pretty serious layer of grime, but I got it shining pretty quickly. Cleaning nasty grime off of old treasures is one of the most fun things in the world to me. No joke. Pathetic maybe, but true.
The best part? This little guy was $2. Two dollars!! I still can’t believe it. I’m telling you, this was probably the greatest sale I’ve ever been to.

 

After bringing it home, this scale sat in a planter on our kitchen floor for a good while. We didn’t have a table that was big enough to hold it but small enough not to be in the way. Also, since the scale is purely for fun and not at all for function, I didn’t want to spend tons of money trying to make accommodations for it. So, last weekend, while Zach was helping some friends move, I was super excited to find this old medical cart in a yard sale. With a tag on it for 50 cents. I know. Same lunging/babbling scenario as before.


As I’ve mentioned before, I really love using industrial pieces for decorating. They’re not too frivolous looking, and they usually have an interesting story behind them. While my new old scale may serve no real purpose in our kitchen, it has brought me more than $2.50 worth of “hey I really like that” moments, so I figure it’s worth it.

One thought on “secondhand finds: a weighty issue

Leave a Reply

