haul out the holly

We have had so much fun decorating for Christmas! We don’t have many new decorations for the inside this year, but I’m always exciting to bring out things that I haven’t seen in a year and spruce things up a little bit.

 This guy is currently hanging out on our porch. He makes me smile.

Yes, I know. We don’t have kids, and yet we have a bunch of stuffed animals in our living room. A few of these were gifts from previous Christmases (the reindeer is actually one of those scrubby animals from bath and Body Works- random, I know), and I picked up the Santa bear for 25 cents at a yard sale. As childish as it may seem, I like how they cozy up the room and make it seem a little more playful.

What’s that you say? You had no idea I was married to such an amazing artist? Neither did I. In fact, Zach’s pretty convinced he must have traced this back in 1992 because his current drawing skills aren’t  exactly at this level. That being said, I’m so glad his mom sent this home with us- it makes me smile (especially his picture of the dark-haired ballerina).

I’ve mentioned before my love for scooping up pillows from yard sales and using the inserts. I got the pair of these red velvet pillows from Crate and Barrel for $4, and had plans to stick the covers in the yard sale pile. Even though they don’t really match our everyday color scheme, I’m so glad I saved them for Christmas! I love the luxurious texture they bring to the room. The other pillow covers are from an after-Christmas sale at Pottery Barn a few years ago. Yes, I know, retail. In my opinion, retail well worth it. I love the happy like bird/house scene and the vibrant colors!

I’m kind of in love with these giant glittery sticks. They’re perfect for our family room, and I like that we can leave them up through the winter. The ginormous jingle bell was a Christmas gift from my dad (he got it at a craft show we went to a few years ago).

Some of my favorite lyrics. What a wonderful season and what an amazing Reason to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

