secondhand finds: very merry

Ok, so I am fully prepared for this post to make some of you cringe. So, let me just get it out there. We give yard sale finds for Christmas. And we get them. Happily. Don’t worry, we also buy things online and in stores, but we’ve found some great things that our family members have loved for a fraction of the cost.

Thankfully, we both come from families that don’t care where their gifts come from. I realize that not everyone will agree, but this kind of thinking just makes sense to me. After all, if I buy someone one fun thing for 50 cents, I have that much more left over to buy them other fun things! Let me also say that Zach comes from a family of absolute pros when it comes to deal hunting. They have found such wonderful gifts that we have loved- some which they wouldn’t have been able to get us had they paid retail. So, there’s my case. Take it or leave it. Now, onto some of this year’s finds:

Zach’s mom is a professional photographer and has been looking for a scale to use as a prop with babies. Zach and I picked this guy up for $3. I. know. It was covered in a pretty hefty layer of grime, but I only had to look at it for .2 seconds before grabbing Zach and saying, “W’e’re buying that for your mom.” It came from a old grocery store in Raleigh, but now it makes a pretty great place for infant portraits. She gave it a test run last week with her grandchildren, and I was able to sneak this shot from the corner. Sweet Canaan:

To help Zach’s mom display more of her beautiful photos, we were also able to get her this brand new digital frame for $7. She was so excited about it!

She had asked us for a copy of this book (which we have and love), and thankfully we found one in perfect condition for 50 cents!

Have I mentioned that I have adorable twin nephews that live in the mountains? Their dad is a big Florida fan, but they’ll have an aunt and two uncles that are NC State alum. I think these ($2.50 each) should be a wardrobe staple next winter.

 We also got the boys a great Crate and Barrel toy bench for $10, but I forgot to take a picture of it.

Zach’s sister loves funky accessories, so we were excited to find this chunky United Colors of Benetton scarf for 50 cents.

This next one wasn’t such a steal (it was probably worth the 25 cents we paid for it), but I was excited to find it. My dad has a rocking horse collection (random, I know) and has several ornaments from a series put out by Hallmark. I was excited to be able to add to his collection!

We have a box in our closet that we add gifts to as we find them. We love the ongoing treasure hunt of finding things that people will enjoy! Now it’s time to start gearing up for next Christmas!

Leave a Reply

