it pays to eat your veggies

Maybe I’m the only one, but there have been times when I’ve thought “I would probably be more healthy if someone paid me.” Or at least, in theory. Thankfully, this year, Blue Cross/ Blue Shield, our school’s healthcare provider, has given us an opportunity to test this little idea.  Our representative recently introduced us to a great program called BluePoints. Basically, it’s an online program that allows you to track healthy habits like getting a physical, eating fruits and veggies, and exercising. Each time you do one of these things, you earn points to be redeemed for gift cards to fun places!

Ok, so it may have taken a while, but I finally earned enough to get my first gift card! Of course, the lovely PB was at the top of my list. I’m a Pottery Barn fan, but my wallet (and, if I’m honest, my common sense) is not. Take, for example, my beloved Emma dishes. I love that we put them on our registry, and they’re still some of my favorite things in our house. Even so, I have a really hard time justifying forking over the cash it would take to fill in some of the pieces missing from our set.

Thankfully, with my BluePoints card and leftovers from a gift card I had gotten earlier in the year, I was able to scoop up this little beauty:

image via Pottery Barn

Even though it’s a little pricey, using gift cards feels like fun “free money”, and I was excited to get to add it to our collection.

In other news, we had this for dinner last night. I love that it was absolutely delicious, and that it’s another small step in helping me make friends with my CrockPot. That thing is amazing!

Leave a Reply

