i married a crazy. who also happens to be wonderful.

The setting: Thursday night, our living room. The conversation:

Zach (sitting in front of the computer): I just bought a car

Me: You what?

Annd scene.

Yep. That’s how things go around here. Now, before you start worrying about our lack of communication skills, let me assure you that this isn’t our first rodeo when it comes to buying cars…not first, or second…or like fiftieth. No, my husband is pretty skilled when it comes to the used car business and, as a result, I’m usually pretty trusting. Usually.

Did I mention this car was on ebay? We are totally Craigslist people. Did I also mention that it was in Connecticut? You know, Connecticut that one that’s in the Northeast? You know, the Northeast that currently has so much snow that it’s basically a giant igloo? Did I mention this car (SUV actually- a Lincoln Navigator) is two-wheel drive. Trust may or may not have given way to a minor inner panic attack.

Nevertheless, I dropped off Zachary J at the airport at 4:30 the next morning…and prayed the whole way home that he would survive. Thankfully, he did.

My husband is a crazy.

Now for part II.

Saturday morning phone call:

Zach: I bet you’ll never guess where I am.

Me: Me either?

Zach: Ikea. I was going to surprise you and get those chairs you’ve been wanting, but I couldn’t remember the name.

Me: You are the greatest husband alive. I’m not really sure because I’m not at home and Ikea has crazy names, but I think it was Majby?

Annd scene. My husband is wonderful.

I mean, seriously, who does that? A) Remembers silly chairs that I talked about forever ago and B) Just decides to get such a crazy awesome present on a whim? Amazing, I tell you.

The first time I spotted these guys in the Ikea catalogue, I knew they fit the bill for what I was going for in the dining room. Then, seeing Sarah Richardson use them in this amazing dining room basically sent me over the top. (source: hgtv.com)

Here are the chairs happily enjoying their new home in the dining room:

Of course, after my onslaught of, “What do you think? Do you like them?”, he hit me with, “Yeah, I really do. I especially like how the cushions match the covers on those other chairs.” Sigh. So nice to have a husband that speaks my love language- decorating.

3 thoughts on “i married a crazy. who also happens to be wonderful.

  1. Pingback: brighten a rainy wednesday with fun deals « Just the Right Angle

Leave a Reply

