stylish swapping

Spring is in the air. With the weather warming up, dreams of spring cleaning have been dancing in my head. I know that sounds strange, but I love going through our old stuff and getting rid of things we no longer use- it frees up space and just helps me breathe a little bit easier.
 
As a super fun way of kick-starting my spring cleaning, last night I had so much fun attending my first ever clothes swap! The event was hosted by my sweet friend Jess for the girls in our community group, and it was a great success!

 
Jess put together some delicious desserts for the evening together. Of course, this was after our husbands picked up take-out from Raleigh Times. I may not suggest stuffing your face the way I did before preparing to try on tons of clothes, but it was worth it.

We put out baskets along the wall and labeled them with general categories (small, medium, large), as well as more specific sizes we thought would correspond to each. Shoes were laid out further down the hall, and accessories and jewelry were displayed on the kitchen table.

I have to admit, when going through my clothes for the swap, I was pretty nervous. I tend to hang on to things until they are either a)on their last leg or b) outdated by about a decade. There were some things that I put into my basket that I wasn’t sure anyone would ever want. Much to my surprise, people were really excited about some of the things, and they looked great on them! I love how the swap gave new life to things that were really just taking up space in closets.

I snagged several great sweaters and shirts, some accessories, and two pairs of shoes. So exciting! I’m already wearing one of the things I got today, and I can’t wait to put the others to use. Once everyone was done making their selections, Zach and I bagged up the leftovers and have plans to drop them off at Goodwill this weekend.
 
Overall, the night was really fun. It was so much fun to look through all of the goodies, and it was a great opportunity to hang out and catch up. I definitely recommend it!

One thought on “stylish swapping

  1. Hello how are you? I just wanted to invite you to my first Clothing Swap Party event. It’s March 16 @ 7pm at The Union (downtown Raleigh Depot). I saw you had written about one so it might be up your alley ;)

    Here’s the intro and details :

    What is it?

    Swap – Don’t Shop clothing swap parties and meetup: A fun and frugal way to revamp your wardrobe.

    The purpose of the clothing swap party meetup is to bring all of the unwanted clothing, shoes and accessories taking up space in your closet and drawers, and leave with bags of wonderful new styles and wardrobe favorites!

    So it’s not only green, fun and stylish but also good for the community. All the non-wanted items left at the end will be donated to local charities.

    So let’s start cleaning our closets and get ready to have fun!

    It’s finally here! This is the swap you have all been waiting for! It is our first Triangle Clothing Swap Party!

    Come and join us in swapping women’s clothes at The Union (in the Raleigh Depot area downtown). Bring in all your clothes that no longer fit or you no longer wear. Please make sure they are in great condition, no stained, ripped or stretched out items. Also accepatable are shoes, jewelry, bags, belts, scarves, etc…..

    Swap the items you bring in for new to you clothes and accesories. While you are at it you can have a drink using your drink ticket, make new friends and just have a nice time.

    Hope to see you there!!

    Things to remember —- The early bird gets the worm so be on time! No swap is equal, you may bring in many items and end up with a few or you may come with a little and leave with a lot. It is all up to you.

    Please RSVP as soon as you can! See you all there!~ and Happy Swapping!!!

    Our First Clothing Swap Party!

    Wednesday, Mar 16, 2011, 7:00 PM

    The Union Raleigh
    327 West Davie St. #114 Raleigh, NC

    32 Thrifty Divas Went

    This is the swap you have all been waiting for! It is our first Triangle Clothing Swap Party!Come and join us in swapping women’s clothes at The Union (in the Raleigh Depot area downtown). Bring in all your clothes that no longer fit or you no longer wear. Please make sure they are in great condition, no stained, ripped or stretched out items. Al…

    Check out this Meetup →

    Details:

    When: Wednesday, March 16 @ 7pm

    Where: The Union, 327 West Davie St. #114 Raleigh, NC

    Price: Price: $5.00 per person (It includes a drink ticket)

Leave a Reply

