the shining

We often get compliments on what a clean house we have. Well, I have a few things to day about that.

1) It kinda should be clean. I mean, we don’t have kids, and how much mess can two grown adults really make, right? Riiight.

2) Cleaning is my stress buster. At times (like when I’m scrubbing the shower walls for 80 hours in a row), it’s also a stress producer, but for the most part I love how it’s actually a visual representation of accomplishment (teaching isn’t always an instant gratification kind of job). It’s a good feeling.

3) Mostly, we just give the appearance of being clean. That’s because a) I usually clean on the weekends, which is also when we usually have people over and b) there are a few things I’m a little bit fanatical about that trick everyone into thinking the whole house is spotless.

That’s me. Tricky trickster.

So, today I thought I’d share with you one of my tricky sneaky secrets.

Oh yeah, you know you’re excited.

So let me first say that this was totally not my idea and I am totally thankful for the woman whose brainchild it was because it makes me happy. It’s called: shining your sink. Thank you, FlyLady.

Yes, that is a picture of my sink filled with bleach water. No, I am not showing you after pictures. Mostly because I’m pretty sure there would be no way to detect a difference in pictures. So maybe this is more about cleaning for my mental rediculousness/selectively germaphobic nature. Either way, I like it.

I know it sounds crazy, but keeping the dishes in the dishwasher and not having gross gunk all over the sink really makes the whole kitchen feel cleaner. Magical, I tell you.

Well, I’m off to tackle more of the spring cleaning to-do list. Happy shining!

Leave a Reply

