when the dog bites, when the bee stings

Ok, so I’m not feeling sad, but I am feeling a little too bogged down to take pictures. Instead, I thought I’d share a few of my favorite things on this Tuesday morning.

I love seeing other people’s favorite things posts, but one problem I usually run into is the crazy price tags. I mean, I would love a good recommendation for someone’s favorite shampoo, but not to the tune of $32. So hopefully, you’ll find this list to be a little bit more budget-friendly, but just as fun!

First up is Johnson’s Melt Away Stress lotion. I’m not really sure if this actually melts stress away, but being as how I seem to be perpetually worrying about something, I don’t mind giving the old placebo effect a whirl every once in a while. Mostly, I just love this because it smells amazing (nice and light) and isn’t greasy.

Bed Head Superstar Queen for a Day Thickening Spray. Alright, I’ll cut to the chase. My hair does not have natural, cute volume. In fact, it’s pretty much a flatty pancake most of the time. Since this stuff is a little pricey, I only use it every once in a while, but the extra boost it gives is worth every penny. Plus, the name lets me pretend I’m this girl for a little while:

For Teacher Appreciation Week, we got to submit wish lists for “Materials Monday”, and these little guys were at the top of my list. Not just post-its, mind you, Super Sticky Post-its. They are pretty much incredible. They stick (and restick) to anything for like forever. Since a personal pet-peeve is the edges of regular post-its peeling off seconds after I stick them somewhere, these babies make me happy.

Physicians Formula Mascara. I’m not a huge makeup person, but if I could choose one product to use forever, it would be mascara, solely for the fact that it makes me look more awake than I usually am. I’m actually a fan of the classic pink and green Maybeline Great Lash mascara, but it started to really bother my contacts and make my eyes water like crazy. This kind is “safe for contact lens wearers” and seems to be a lot more gentle.

I mean, really. What would a favorite things post be without food? I pretty much haven’t had anything from Trader Joe’s that I haven’t loved, but these guys are currently at the top of my list. A friend brought them to our house for small group, and then left the extras for us to enjoy- which we did! Such a delicious mix of sweet and savory.

Last but not least, how could I resist sharing my current cleaning obsession? Between the lotion and this spray, I’m apparently on a lavender kick, but it. smells. so. good. When Zach’s mom visited us recently she even commented about how the smell reminded her of the lavender plants outside of her grandma’s house. I’ll take that over fake lemon scent any day.

Well, that wraps up today’s round-up. I’m off to navigate some end-of-year chaos!

2 thoughts on “when the dog bites, when the bee stings

  1. I love lavendar, too! Thanks for the lotion- it’s awesome! i will have to try the Meyer’s. Always in the market for some good mascara, so I’ll try the stuff you mentioned.

    The ferns look great and I’m sure they finish off the front of your house just beautifully! Love you! We need to get together soon!

    • I would love that! This is our last week of school, so after that I’m free pretty much anytime! Zach has real estate training next week- would you want to come to our house one afternoon?

Leave a Reply

