secondhand finds: lately

Even though we haven’t been to many yard sales recently, there have been a few things I’ve managed to scoop up, so I thought I’d do a little update.

This glass straw holder just makes me think of summer. Images of filling it with pretty paper straws and hosting cookouts on the deck dance through my head. In the meantime, I’m loving it as a fun, convenient place to store colored pencils.

I’ve been sort of on the hunt for a rug lately (more details to come), so when I saw an ad on Craigslist for a few Pottery Barn rugs to be sold at a yard sale, I decided to stop by. When I got there, I was a little bit disappointed and really excited. Disappointed because they didn’t really work in the room I’m looking to update, but super excited because they were such  great deal! For $75, I got a 5×8 area rug, 2.5×9 runner, and 3×5 accent rug, all of which I possibly sold on Craigslist to save up for a rug that will work. (Side note: I actually really liked all of them, which gave me the guts to attempt the flip. If we had ended up being “stuck” with them, I still would have been happy.) Here’s a quick shot of the area rug before it left to its new home:

At the same yard sale, I also scooped up this neat (and heavy!) Pottery Barn vase (no plans to sell it on Craigslist).

Last but not least, is this fun enamel tub.

I have a few of these in different shapes and sizes around the house, and I kind of love them. This one was $6, and I like that it can be used for drinks, as a plant stand, just to prettify things, or for taking pictures of my sweet niece (we put it to use this week, and I can personally attest to the cuteness factor of that last one!)

One thought on “secondhand finds: lately

  1. Pingback: we had the rug pulled out from under us « Just the Right Angle

Leave a Reply

