the land of the free

Can’t believe it’s the 4th of July already! Over the past few weeks I’ve been gallivanting at the beach with some lovely ladies, finishing up lots of little house projects, spending time with great friends, and just staying generally busy. Thankfully, it’s a fun busy, and we are thoroughly enjoying our summer!

One other thing we also have been enjoying lately is the amount of free (or relatively free) stuff that has somehow crossed our paths. Here are a few:

1) This first one is a total dork out moment for me, so I’ll go ahead and get it over with. A while ago we bought a PlayStation 2 (or 3, I’m really not sure) mainly for the Blu-ray capabilities. While we’re really happy with the system, we weren’t too happy to hear that the network had been hacked. Thankfully, we were able to cash in on the two free games offered by Sony. Zach chose some game that involves guns (yes, specific) and Little Big Planet, which he told me he picked with me in mind. Ha. Riiight. This might be a good time to mention that a family friend once bought me a Sega with one game and I played that one game (Sonic) maybe ten times before we sold it. So not a gamer.

But.

Can I just tell you that my husband was right? He usually is. Little Big Planet is super fun and completely worth the money we didn’t pay. We still haven’t played it a ton, but it’s happy and not at all gruesome, which I’m a fan of.

2) I know I’m way behind the times on this next one, but in case you are too, here it is.

I was recently reminded of the great deals available at EarthFare via a friend’s blog. The nearest EarthFare is a pretty long trek from our house, but I had some errands to run out that way a couple of weeks ago and was able to cash in on their free dinner offer. Just for signing up for their e-mails (which also include some crazy good coupons), I was able to get organic baby carrots, a whole chicken, and a carton of mashed potatoes from their deli. There may be no such thing as a free lunch, but apparently a free dinner is still a possibility!

3) This next one is sort of a two-in-one. Last summer on our road trip, one of the hotels we stayed at was offering a free candy bar to anyone who left them a review on TripAdvisor. Since I was seriously in the mood for a snack, I filled out the simple survey and cashed in on my Butterfinger. A few weeks ago, I got an e-mail from TripAdvisor thanking me for my input and giving me a code for a free photo book on Shutterfly. Since I’ve been meaning to put our honeymoon pictures in an album for, oh, the past four years, I decided this would be the perfect opportunity. We did have to pay shipping, so it wasn’t completely free if you’re getting all technical, but it was still worth it. In case you’re curious, you can see a copy of our book here.

4) Over spring break, I was doing some browsing on the lovely Boden website when I entered a giveaway for one of the Union Jack scarves they created to commemorate the Royal Wedding. I didn’t really think about it again, so I was super excited to discover this in my inbox:

Ever since our honeymoon (see above), I’ve been a bit of an anglophile, and I love the simple, graphic look of the Union Jack. The scarf looks just like the background of the picture above, and really like it! It’s no longer for sale on their website, but when it was, it was going for $58. Not too shabby.

We’ve definitely been enjoying so many great free things seemingly all in a row, and as we head into a time of celebrating our freedom as a nation, it seemed like an appropriate time to share them. Most importantly, we are thankful for the free gift of salvation offered to us in Christ.

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, them, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1

Have fun celebrating today! More detials on house stuff coming later this week.

One thought on “the land of the free

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed looking at your Funnymoon Book! what a blessing that was to be able to do that! I love and miss you! Can we get together soon?

Leave a Reply

