hilton head, part II

So in the last post when I said I’ll share more tomorrow, what I meant was, maybe in a couple of days, if I sit still long enough to focus on the blog, I’ll get around to putting some pictures up.

So, now that that’s clarified:

My absolute favorite part of our trip was renting a double kayak on Thursday.

We took it out on one of the nearby waterways, and had a great time enjoying the quiet, peaceful setting and beautiful scenery, including big patches of spitting oysters.

As we went a little bit further, Zach and I were both super excited when we spotted a dolphin. We paddled a little bit closer, and did some crazy happy dances every time he popped out of the water. Then, for the next hour, we just paddled around with this awesome dolphin swimming all around us. It was truly amazing. I actually had the privilege of swimming with dolphins when I was younger, but there was something so exhilarating about just the two of us being in the wild and seeing him swim all around. There were lots of picture attempts, but he was a quick little guy (I hated that I didn’t get a picture of him poking his head out of the water). Basically, if you put all these together you get the gist:

And if you know me and are wondering, I did jump in and try to swim after him. The crazy thing is that it really was only about four feet deep where we were, and the bottom was super muddy, making the kayak a much more efficient means of chasing. But I tried.

After kayaking, Zach treated me to my first ever mani/pedi combo. He’s been wanting to do this for a while, but I always talked him out of it. I have a really hard time justifying paying someone to do something I can easily do myself. Thankfully, my sweet husband wouldn’t take no for an answer. He dropped me off and said I couldn’t get back in the car without painted fingers and toes. (Yep, total winner.) I went with “Dim Sum Plum”, which was a little more purple than I would typically choose, but I decided that it would be much more vacationy to just go for it. Such a fun treat!

Later that night, we drove to the end of the island to the Harbor Town/Sea Pines/South Beach area for a little exploring. South Beach is home to the famous Salty Dog Cafe, and the other areas are full of quaint shops, musicians, and a small camp pavilion for kids. There’s a $5 entrance fee, but in my opinion it’s worth it. The area is completely charming and full of great views like this:

The rest of the week was full of plenty of relaxing on beach-side hammocks,

dreaming of life on a boat (more specifically, this particular sailboat),

and just generally being goofy.


All in all, it was a wonderful week! We were both big fans of Hilton Head- it reminded us of the town we live in, only beachside. We can’t wait to go back!

One thought on “hilton head, part II

  1. I am so glad you had an amazing vacation…Zach is the best! Can’t wait to hear all about it soon!!! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

