something i like

Ok, this is the part of the post where I come up with a better excuse for not posting other than life craziness and generally being distracted. Nope. That’s about it.

Moving right along, while we haven’t been doing a whole lot around our house lately other than the mad cleaning dash that comes before showings, I thought I would share a recent find that I found to be particularly inspirational.

Do any of you get Better Homes and Gardens? My mother-in-law signed me up for a bunch of magazines as a Christmas gift, and that was one of them. I was most impressed with their Septemeber 2011 issue. First of all, I was just excited about their feature of Erika Powell, one of my all-time favorite designers, and Bob and Courtney Novogratz, who Zach and I secretly dream of being our own version of.

After I finished oohing and ahhing over the Stylemakers section, I then proceeded to fall head-over-heels for the insanely gorgeous home of Nestor Carbonell (Richard from Lost) designed by Tia Zoldan of Zoldan Interiors.

Let’s drool a little, shall we?

Alright, first of all, those light fixtures had me at hello. I love the vintage/modern aesthetic, and the fact that they’re a little unexpected.

Next up, can we talk about the FLOORS? Seriously, I don’t remember ever drooling over kitchen flooring more than I did when I saw this picture. If anyone wants to hook me up with some amazing Moroccan tile for our next house, I won’t complain. (ps- On Tia’s blog, she gives out the sourcing information for the floors, in case you’re interested)

Third thing I’m totally in love with: the windows. Windows absolutely have the ability to make a room. The transforming power of natural light is pretty amazing, and these guys are proof.

I also love the color scheme, the sink, the clean, unfussy layout, and the styling.

Basically, I’ll take it.

And it even makes me forget a little bit about the absolutely terrible mess that was the season finale of Lost and the fact that I feel the producers owe me several hours of my life back. Almost.

For now, I’m off to relax with my husband, who is making me homemade mac and cheese. Because he is wonderful. And because it is FALL! Loving this weather and the beautiful change of seasons!

One thought on “something i like

  1. I love reading your blog, Arielle! You have an adorable sense of humor. I love the house, too, and how about the black trim on the doors and windows?? My front door is so chic! :) Love you!!

Leave a Reply

