welcome to my crib

Y’all.

I don’t think the nesting phase is supposed to hit until later in pregnancy, but man, am I ready to get this show on the road. Seriously, I think I’ve been nesting since birth. I’m a little bit worried about what that means for my poor husband once the real phase kicks into gear.

Since there’s not much we can do before knowing the gender (and where we’ll be living), I’m mostly settling for looking at zillions of amazing ideas.

As weird as it may sound, one thing that I have been trying to decide on before the big gender reveal is the crib. Ok, yes, part of this is because I’m just dying to start on something, but there is also strategy involved. Since we’re wanting to reuse as much as we can from this baby to the next, I’m trying to keep the larger items as gender-neutral as possible. Therefore, I feel like choosing a crib before we actually know what we’re having is a good way to make an unbiased decision rather than one that is tainted by a room plan. But man, has it been a challenge.

Here’s what I’ve thought of so far:

Craigslist: out. There are some deals to be had, but with the recent drop-side ban and our plans to use this crib for years, I’m thinking that buying new is a worthwhile investment (particularly since none of the cribs I’m considering will break the bank).

I know that I want a crib that can work either against the wall or away from it. I lean towards this style anyways, but since we’re not exactly sure what the baby’s room will look like space-wise, it also seems like the most flexible option.

First of all, let me just say: I am totally head-over-heels for this crib:

The only little problem is that it’s discontinued. Not to mention that if it were still for sale it would probably cost approximately $8,000.

That being said, if you have one (Pottery Barn Kids Harper) that you want to sell me, let me know.

On the realistic side of things, I have always been a fan of the classic style of Jenny Lind cribs. I think it’s pretty clear from my previous post and my recent Pinterest madness that I kind of love them.

I’ve always thought of a white Jenny Lind crib as the quintessential nursery item, but I especially love the fresh, modern feel that a glossy black finish adds.

In addition to the classics, I also really like cribs with a little unexpected color. I love that gray is different, but still versatile enough to work for lots of spaces. I really like both the gray and the white versions of this crib. The clean, modern lines make it versatile enough for lots of different spaces.

I think I may have come to a decision, but I’m pretty notorious for changing my mind. Hopefully this baby will have some place to sleep come April.

One thought on “welcome to my crib

Leave a Reply

