january showers bring…april babies

Ok, taking a break from the frantic “we’re living in a hotel” posts as of late, I thought I’d share a long-overdue peek at what was quite possibly one of the best baby showers of all time.

Abby, Robin, and Debbie threw the shower for me and Baby Angle in late January, and I just have to say it was pretty perfect. They are all such talented women, and they spoiled me like crazy with some adorable details.

First off, Robin had the amazing idea of borrowing some boy toys (she’s the mom of two sweet girls) from a friend to decorate for the shower. I’d never seen this before at a shower, and I loved it! Cute details like Toy Story figures, dump trucks, and tool sets we scattered around the house. It set such a sweet, playful tone, and gave me a fun glimpse into what our house will probably look like very soon.

If there is one thing you need to know about these ladies, it’s this (ok, well it’s that they love Jesus, but also): they are the most fantastic cooks ev.er. Let’s do a little mouth-watering run-down, shall we?

Abby made these insanely adorable bird’s nest and caterpillar cupcakes that hands down looked like they came straight from a Martha Stewart magazine. And yes, they tasted as good as they looked. She even sweetly made sure they were my favorite flavors- coconut and plain with oreo  topping. I was so blown away by the adorable detail she put into each one- can we all just remember that she was 36 weeks pregnant at the time? Seriously, who does that? She rocks.

You may remember by slight obsession with hot chocolate, and the girls were so thoughtful to include a hot chocolate bar as part of the shower. Robin did an amazing job of making some of the creamiest, most delicious hot chocolate I’ve ever had (it definitely rivaled the Umstead’s), melt-in-your-mouth marshmallows, whipped cream, peppermint bark, and toffee bark. Delectable, I tell you. The set-up of all the fixin’s was adorable, and it made me feel so loved that they added such a personal touch to the day.

Debbie’s Monte Cristo sandwiches were completely addicting…seriously I could’ve eaten the whole platter. The girls also put together sausage balls, parfaits, and other yummy treats that had everyone happily stuffing their bellies.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I love a good onesie banner. Knowing that I would get to see our sweet little guy in these in just a few short months was the icing on the cake.

The girls also put together these cute circle cut-outs with encouraging verses for me and Baby Angle. Guests got to write notes on them, and they put them together on a binder ring for me to save as a keepsake. I’m so excited to find a special place for this in his nursery!

I had so much fun opening tons of generous, adorable gifts for Baby Angle. He is already one spoiled little guy! One present in particular totally cracked me up. Some former students that I’ve had the privilege of staying in touch with made our little man a custom onesie with their faces on it. I love it.

Sweet shower guests:

The beautiful hostesses:

26 and 36 weeks respectively (now 32 and -2!….Man, how time flies!)

Of course, while the set-up was totally charming, and the gifts were incredible, the company was even better. It was so much fun to spend the morning with a group of ladies that mean so much to me! Baby Angle is so blessed to be surrounded by such wonderful people. We can’t wait for him to meet them!

One thought on “january showers bring…april babies

  1. Pingback: hudson’s room details: part I | just the right Angle

Leave a Reply

