kitchen/dining room details

Now that you’ve seen the general state of the kitchen/dining room, I thought I’d fill you in on a few of the specifics.

We’ve already covered a few things, but just to get you up to speed:

Paint:

Walls- Benjamin Moore Dove Wing

Cabinets- Sherwin Williams Westhighland White

(See this post for more details.)

Hardware:

Pulls: Anthropologie

Knobs: Lowes

(More info here.)

Counters: Carrara Marble (Details in this post.)

(Side note: Lauren Liess of the beautiful Pure Style Home recently did a post on living with honed marble in the kitchen that is definitely worth a read if you’re considering making this move. I love her fresh perspective on something that can be quite a dilemma for people choosing countertops.)

Ok, now on to things we haven’t covered:

047

Faucet: Kraus Single Lever Modern Spiral Chrome Pull-out Kitchen Faucet from Overstock (don’t forget your 10% off coupon!)

This kitchen by Erika Powell of Urban Grace Interiors is one of my all-time favorites, and that faucet was love at first sight. After living with it for several months, we couldn’t be happier. I love the industrial look, it was pretty easy to install (according to my plumber/husband), and the functionality is awesome. I’d buy it again in a heartbeat.

059

Stools: Tabouret 24-inch Metal Counter Stools from Overstock

Also inspired by the kitchen I mentioned above. As for my review of these- love them! They are comfortable and lightweight, and the handles in the center make them easy to tote all over the house and do things like change lightbulbs and hang curtain rods. I also like that they add a modern, masculine tone to the room to balance out some of our vintage pieces.

048

Cutting boards: Yard Sales

Dutch Oven: Le Creuset outlet

I had wanted one of these for a while, and we found this one for a deep discount at the outlet when we were on vacation (it was apparently discounted because the color is exclusive to Crate and Barrel). We’ve started a tradition where we allot a certain amount of money for each day that we’re on vacation (to give ourselves the freedom to not stress about eating out or doing fun things), but we came in under budget a few days in a row thanks to hiking and lots of Chick Fila coupons. My rockstar husband let me use the excess to bring this little guy home with us. I love using it, and I also love the extra punch it gives the corner of our kitchen- definitely too pretty to hide in a cabinet!

049

060

Table: Craigslist

Slipcovered chairs: Pottery Barn via Craigslist

Slipcovers: JC Penney

Curtains: Custom (I’ll share details in another post)

End Chairs  Ikea Byholma/ Marieberg

Placemats: Target

Rug: Flat Braided Jute Rug via Pottery Barn outlet

104Trashcan: Rubbermaid Commercial Silent Defenders 

Since the current set-up of our kitchen makes the end of the peninsula the best spot for the trashcan, I wanted to upgrade from our flimsy (and ugly) plastic one. I asked for this one for Christmas and my mother-in-law sweetly obliged (even though she thought I was a little crazy :)). Love is probably a strong word to use about a trashcan, but it’s pretty accurate. For something I look at a billion times a day, I love that this one fits right in with the vibe of our house. Also, we have definitely benefited from the sturdiness factor since, unfortunately, a certain tiny man loves it as much as I do:

062The white cabinet was a $20 secondhand find, and I filled it with my mom’s cookbooks, grandma’s china, and flowers from a friend’s wedding.

068

Buffet/ sideboard: Craigslist (painted by my dad)

Lamps: Homegoods

Mirror: Brimfield

Toy basket: Smith and Hawken Square Basket with Chalkboard from Target

The toy basket was a baby gift from a sweet friend (thanks, Stacy!), and I have to admit, it’s one of my favorites. I love that it adds a warm, natural element to the room while providing a convenient place to me to store Hudson’s stuff. I also love that it provides lots of entertainment for the little peanut:

003Even though there are still some things on our to-do list for these rooms, we definitely haven’t let that stop us from enjoying them. We love the open floorplan and natural light, and we’ve loved getting to make this space feel more like us!

2 thoughts on “kitchen/dining room details

Leave a Reply

