Welcome!

I thought I’d share a few pictures of our entrance area. To start things off, here is a before shot (not the best angle, but this is all I have):

We really didn’t mind the wood trim, but we have several big trees around the house that limit the natural light and, as a result, we wanted to make things as light and bright as possible. The trim got a coat of white semi-gloss (Sherwin Williams’ Westhighland White, color matched in Valpsar). The walls were painted Pittsburgh Paints’ Colonial White (also color matched in Valspar). We also switched out the door hardware and light fixture and had the hardwoods refinished. Here’s the after:

The light fixture is from Pottery Barn (10% off). I eventually would like to get a vintage-looking bulb for it, but a regular bulb gets the job done for now. The hoosier cabinet is from Craigslist, and the great Dash and Albert runner is the Nimes Ticking pattern from White Flower Farmhouse. If you haven’t had a chance to visit their shop, I definitely recommend it! Their products are both unique and beautiful, and the customer service is outstanding. Happy shopping!

This part of the house is nothing fancy, but we hope it makes our guests feel welcome!

Don’t forget to head over to The Inspired Room, Fingerprints on the Fridge,  Finding Fabulous, and The Shabby Nestfor more decorating inspiration!

16 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. I love your cabinet! My grandparents had one exactly like it in their kitchen when I was a little girl. I coveted it and had big plans for it when I grew up. Unfortunately it fell into disrepair and before I could get my hands on it well-meaning family members tossed it after my grandfather passed away. I have many fond memories of pretending to “cook” on it!

  2. Wow, so beautiful. Is that your house in your header? Sigh… I had a house like that in Virginia but we moved back to western Canada 18 months ago and house out here don’t have the same charm.

  3. I love your entry! Ours is on our to do list, and I can’t wait to get to it. It won’t be quite as dramatic or beautiful, but I sure can enjoy yours in the meantime!

    ~ Michelle @ FTSN

  4. Pingback: Just the Right Angle

  5. Pingback: we had the rug pulled out from under us « Just the Right Angle

Leave a comment